Who We Are

We are a network of Southern African and European organisations working for economic, gender and environmental justice. We do this by facilitating critical reflection on our social justice practice, listening to the voices of those who are most affected by injustice, and supporting innovative and collaborative solidarity initiatives that address unjust power relations globally.

In response to changing global conditions, and to effectively amplify the impact of their work, three European Protestant development agencies and members of the ACT Alliance have joined forces with Southern African partners to explore new models of solidarity and collaboration between European and Southern African development and faith-based organisations.

A key element of this process is building a Solidarity Hub, which is the focal point for interaction, learning and dialogue amongst local and international partners and allies seeking to engage in deepening solidarity, knowledge and practice in the field. This reflection informs new and existing programmatic action that is rooted in the communities we work with, and that builds solidarity across the global south and north.

The higher level goal is to develop new forms of action for social justice that contribute to the transformation of structures of injustice and inequality by accompanying and supporting communities in their struggles. This is based on the conclusion that social change will happen if there is increased community agency, mobilisation and voice.

This work is centred on the pillars of i) social and economic justice, ii) environmental justice/climate change, and iii) gender justice and SRHR, and contributes to the implementation of the SDGs, notably the SDGs 1 (no poverty), 3 (good health and well-being), 5 (gender equality), 10 (reduced inequalities), 13 (climate action) and 16 (peace, justice and strong institutions) in Southern Africa.

The ACT Ubumbano network is guided by an Advisory Group drawn from participating organisations and constituted at the annual Solidarity Hub. Currently it comprises the following organisations: ZELA, CLP, BMF, ELCSA, SAFCEI, ESSET, CA, CoS, BfdW, WWSOSA, and PACSA. Ashley Green-Thompson and Zanele Makombe are responsible for facilitating the connections and carrying out the decisions of the network.