Inaugural Meeting of the new Board of ACT Ubumbano

Following a public nomination process, we are happy to introduce the new Board of ACT Ubumbano. At its inaugural meeting in Johannesburg and online on 25 March 2021, Dudu Radebe, the Director of CREATE-CBR, was chosen as the Chair. Ashmeer Joseph is the Acting General Secretary of ELCSA and was selected as Deputy Chair. Janet Zhou, the Director of ZIMCODD, completes the Exco as Secretary. Other members are Laurel Oettle (Director of AFRA), Jessie Turton (Lecturer at University of Johannesburg), Barbara Kalima-Phiri (Executive Director of IMAGINE Global Initiative, EI), Roger Domingo (CEO of SPP), and Helga Jansen-Djaugberg (Independent Consultant). Uta Hergenröther from BfdW is an ex-officio member representing the European partners.

The founding Board spent some time handing over the reins to the new Board. They have played a crucial role in recent years of holding ACT Ubumbano throughout the process of becoming a legal being. We will always be grateful for the time commitment and hard work of Sonto Magwaza (ESSET), Moses Cloete (BMF), Ashmeer Joseph (ELCSA), Graham Philpott (CLP), Francesca de Gasparis (SAFCEI), Daniela Gennrich (WWSOSA), Uta Hergenröther (BfdW), Paul Tyler (Ziyo), Miriam Machaya (CA), and Jacqueline Ernerot (formerly of ACT COS).